Mid-Week Review: Gearbreakers 🤖🏳️‍🌈

Hey, hey, hey! Welcome back to the Big Kids Book Club.

It’s Thursday, so it’s time to jump right into another Mid-Week Review!

Today’s book: Gearbreakers by Zoe Hana Mikuta

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Pages: 416

Release Date:  29/06/2021

Suggested Age Range: 13+ YA

Genre(s): Science Fiction, Cyberpunk, Mechas, LGBTQIA+

Star Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐ (out of 5)


Two girls on opposite sides of a war discover they’re fighting for a common purpose—and falling for each other—in Zoe Hana Mikuta’s high-octane debut Gearbreakers, perfect for fans of Pacific Rim, Pierce Brown’s Red Rising Saga, and Marie Lu’s Legend series.

We went past praying to deities and started to build them instead...

The shadow of Godolia’s tyrannical rule is spreading, aided by their giant mechanized weapons known as Windups. War and oppression are everyday constants for the people of the Badlands, who live under the thumb of their cruel Godolia overlords.

Eris Shindanai is a Gearbreaker, a brash young rebel who specializes in taking down Windups from the inside. When one of her missions goes awry and she finds herself in a Godolia prison, Eris meets Sona Steelcrest, a cybernetically enhanced Windup pilot. At first Eris sees Sona as her mortal enemy, but Sona has a secret: She has intentionally infiltrated the Windup program to destroy Godolia from within.

As the clock ticks down to their deadliest mission yet, a direct attack to end Godolia’s reign once and for all, Eris and Sona grow closer—as comrades, friends, and perhaps something more…


This book really sucked me in with the premise – cyberpunk style badass mecha pilots and a corrupt regime to burn from the inside – errr… yes please!

But the story is far more than just a theme pasted liberally over a blanket YA story – instead Zoe has written a wonderfully angsty novel full of morally grey characters that delve into the very best that YA has to offer. The richness of the world comes alive from the very 1st page and it juggles quite a lot of sci-fi terms and ideas, that while for a sci-fi fan like myself are vibrant and creative takes on well-trodden and loved series for inspiration, are introduced in a way that fans dipping their toes into heavy Sci-fi for the first time won’t be scared off.

That being said, I do feel like this book resonated more with me because the themes are ones that I’ve fully got behind, because I won’t lie that there’s possibly some characters that I feel are not necessary, or that I wasn’t the biggest fan of, but then there are moments where I was forced to sit the f**k down and finish the chapter and to hell to all my other God-damn responsibilities because I was so invested in what happened next.

The character dynamics between Eris and Sona are for sure the highlights beyond giant mech battles and the revolutionary drama, as it’s a twisting, bubbling mess but in all the right ways. As the book progresses and more and more of their relationship starts fitting into place, you find yourself rooting for them come the final chapters and “Hell to the YES!” was that a great ending to the book.

That being said, I do think that YA Sci-Fi is always a harder sell to the general YA market, as the concept, then any Fantasy/Romance YA. Alas, I suppose I’m in the minority, but after finishing the book, I’m more than happy to be.

Pride Month promotes: W/W Relationships 🏳️‍🌈 🧯🐙🐐🎀🩱

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: