Episode 85: Big Kids Book Club Monthly Book Chat – 1st Birthday Special!!!

Hey, hey, hey!

It’s a new month so I’m joined by Rab (@rabtales), Emma (@emmakeane10), and special guest Laura (@librarylaurapod) as we celebrate our 1st birthday!

It’s super exciting and can’t believe the fun we’ve had since the podcast started.

Happy Birthday to you the listeners who make this all possible 😀

—————————————————–

Landfill Mountains – Released 14th September 2021: https://www.onwe.co/product-page/the-landfill-mountains
https://www.waterstones.com/book/the-landfill-mountains/rab-ferguson/9781913872045

A story from our very own Rab!

—————————————————–

Books talked about in this episode:

Aristotle and Dante Dive into the Waters of the World by Benjamin Alire Saenz (YA)

Tokyo Ever After by Emiko Jean (YA)

Maggie Blue and the Dark World by Anna Goodall (MG)

The Weather Weaver by Tamsin Mori (MG)

House of Serendipity: Sequins and Secrets by Lucy Ivison (MG)

A Soft Place to Land by Janae Marks (MG)

The Last Kids on earth and the Doomsday Race by Max Brailler (MG)

And more to follow!

—————————————————–

We also want to give a big shout out to:

Black Lives Matter – https://blacklivesmatter.com/

Campaign Against Climate Change – https://www.campaigncc.org/

—————————————————–

So sit back, relax, and get lost in a good book-ish podcast

Follow us on Twitter: @bigkidsbookclubpodcast

Tuesday TBR Teasers

Hey, hey, hey! Welcome back to the Big Kids Book Club.

It’s Tuesday, so what should we talk about today? How about new books!

Each week we look at a book that’s either just been released or soon to be hitting shelves, but either way they should be on your wish lists!

This week: Monster Hunting For Beginners by Ian Mark

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd 

Pages: 288

Release Date:   19/08/2021

Get set for the new hilarious out-of-this-world adventure series for readers aged 8+ – this is the perfect new series for fans of Tom Gates, David Solomons and Star Wars! Highly illustrated throughout by the brilliantly funny Katie Abey.

Mum and Dad have left – gone to Mars, and they’re never coming back . . .

FREEDOM AT LAST!

But this isn’t one of Dad’s weird jokes; it’s REAL. It’s up to ten-year-old Eliza and her genius little brother, Johnnie, to find out what’s going on, and launch a rescue . . .

Can they handle vampire squids, a suspicious villain, a secret island full of traps and a trip into space? And – more importantly – will they ever get their parents back?

The funniest, zaniest, most out-of-this-world adventure you’ll read all year!

Episode 84: Big Kids Book Club Author Interview: Clare Weze

Hey hey hey!

Welcome back to this week’s Author Interview.

In this episode, Clare Weze, debut author of The Lightning Catcher joins us on the show!

Clare and I chatted about the scientific process of writing, the highs and lows of debut, and what’s coming next?

Clare was a great guest to have on the show and we are very grateful she was able to join us on the show.

Enjoy!

***COMPETITION***

If you want to be in with a chance of winning a copy of Lightning Catcher, head over to Twitter and follow @BigKidsBookClub.
Send us a tweet using the hashtag #LightningComp and tell us what mythical creature you’d have as a friend

(UK residents only)

The competition closes midnight on 27th August.

Episode 83: Big Kids Book Club Author Interview: Sophie Kirtley

Hey hey hey!

Welcome back to this week’s Author Interview.

In this episode, Sophie Kirtley, author of Wild Way Home and Way to Impossible Island joins us on the show!

Sophie and I chatted about the psychology of kids emotions, finding the right POV for the novel, and coming up with Stone Age Names.

Sophie was a great guest to have on the show and we are very grateful she was able to join us on the show.

Enjoy!

***COMPETITION***

If you want to be in with a chance of winning a copy of both In this episode, Sophie Kirtley, author of Wild Way Home and Way to Impossible Island then head over to Twitter and follow @BigKidsBookClub.
Send us a tweet using the hashtag #WildComp and tell us your Stone Age name

(UK residents only)

The competition closes midnight on 25th August.

Tuesday TBR Teasers

Hey, hey, hey! Welcome back to the Big Kids Book Club.

It’s Tuesday, so what should we talk about today? How about new books!

Each week we look at a book that’s either just been released or soon to be hitting shelves, but either way they should be on your wish lists!

This week: The Midnight Thief by Sylvia Bishop

Publisher: Scholastic 

Pages: 304

Release Date:   05/08/2021

A captivating boarding school mystery from Sylvia Bishop, author of Erica’s Elephant, The Bookshop Girl and The Secret of the Night Train.

Transplanted from her exciting life as an explorer’s daughter, Freya finds herself miserable at a posh boarding school. Freya hates all the boring rules, the other girls are mean to her, and the headmistress is frosty good manners personified.

When a bat removal expert is called in to deal with an infestation, Freya meets his irrepressible children – and finds herself making friends at last.

Together they explore the city, with particular interest in the grand exhibition showing priceless artefacts for the first time.

When the objects are stolen in a dramatic heist, Freya is sure her new friends are responsible – but the true culprit might be closer to home…

Warm, witty and packed full of gorgeous characters, this is a boarding school mystery with a twist.

Perfect for fans of Robin Stevens’ Murder Most Unladylike series Sylvia Bishop is the author of The Bookshop Girl, The Secret of the Night Train, and Erica’s Elephant.

Episode 82: Big Kids Book Club Author Interview: Darren Simpson

Hey hey hey!

Welcome back to this week’s Author Interview.

In this episode, Darren Simpson, author of Scavengers and the Memory Thieves, joins us on the show!

Darren and I chatted about switching from adult to children’s fiction, how memories and honest come through, and growing in writing.

Darren was a great guest to have on the show and we are very grateful he was able to join us on the show.

Enjoy!

***COMPETITION***

If you want to be in with a chance of winning a copy of The memory Thieves then head over to Twitter and follow @BigKidsBookClub.
Send us a tweet using the hashtag #MemoryComp and tell us a cherished memory

(UK residents only)

The competition closes midnight on 20th August.

Episode 81: Big Kids Book Club Author Interview: Kimberlie Hamilton

Hey hey hey!

Welcome back to this week’s Author Interview.

In this episode, Kimberlie Hamilton, author of Rebel Animals series joins us on the show!

Kimberlie and I chatted about animal stories, writing under extreme deadlines, and story inspirations.

Kimberlie was a great guest to have on the show and we are very grateful she was able to join us on the show.

Enjoy!

***COMPETITION***

If you want to be in with a chance of winning a copy of Rebel Animals at Risk then head over to Twitter and follow @BigKidsBookClub.
Send us a tweet using the hashtag #RebelComp and tell us an endangered animal species you wish you could save.

(UK residents only)

The competition closes midnight on 18th August.

Tuesday TBR Teasers

Hey, hey, hey! Welcome back to the Big Kids Book Club.

It’s Tuesday, so what should we talk about today? How about new books!

Each week we look at a book that’s either just been released or soon to be hitting shelves, but either way they should be on your wish lists!

This week: How to Be Human by Karen McCombie

Publisher: Little Tiger Press Group 

Pages: 224

Release Date:   05/08/2021

Who said friends have to match to matter?

When the Star Boy’s space-pod crashes in the grounds of Fairfield Academy he knows he must seek shelter. Taking refuge in the school’s boiler room to await rescue he discovers that the room’s small window is the perfect place to watch humans go by.

The Star Boy knows about humans from his Earth lessons but no one from his planet has ever studied them up close. Now he has the perfect opportunity. There are two humans in particular that catch his attention – a boy called Wes and a girl named Kiki. But as his curiosity grows so does his courage and, making a momentous decision, the Star Boy follows Wes and Kiki into class … and into their lives.

A warm and otherworldly story about finding friendship in the most unlikely of places, for fans of Tamsin Winter, Cath Howe and Ross Welford.

Episode 80: Big Kids Book Club Author Interview: Hannah Peck

Hey hey hey!

Welcome back to this week’s Author Interview.

In this episode, Hannah Peck, illustrator and now author of Kate on the Case, joins us on the show!

Hannah and I chatted about pitching books, the transition from picture books to middle grade, and the fun in ryhmes.

Hannah was a great guest to have on the show and we are very grateful she was able to join us on the show.

Enjoy!

***COMPETITION***

If you want to be in with a chance of winning a copy of Kate on the Case then head over to Twitter and follow @BigKidsBookClub.
Send us a tweet using the hashtag #KateComp and tell us your favourite Breakfast treat!

(UK residents only)

The competition closes midnight on 14th August.

Episode 79: Big Kids Book Club Author Interview: Bali Rai

Hey hey hey!

Welcome back to this week’s Author Interview.

In this episode, Bali Rai, author of the Now or Never and Mohinder’s War, joins us on the show!

Bali and I chatted about finding diversity in history, writing multiple projects at once, and what makes us think of family.

Bali was a great guest to have on the show and we are very grateful he was able to join us on the show.

Enjoy!

***COMPETITION***

If you want to be in with a chance of winning a copy of The Royal Rebel then head over to Twitter and follow @BigKidsBookClub.
Send us a tweet using the hashtag #RebelComp and tell us what makes you think of home

(UK residents only)

The competition closes midnight on 11th August.