Episode 121: Big Kids Book Club Author Interview – Sue Wallman

Hey hey hey!

Welcome back to this week’s Author Interview.

In this episode, Sue Wallman, joins us to talk about her latest novel, Such a Good Liar.

Emma chatted with Sue about the writing mysteries, incorporating social media into novels, and making YA protagonists believable.

Sue was a great guest to have on the show and we are very grateful she was able to join us on the show.

***COMPETITION***

If you want to be in with a chance of winning a copy of Such a Good Liar head over to Twitter and follow @BigKidsBookClub. Send us a tweet using the hashtag #Liarcomp and tell us your most outrageous lie! Come on make it good 😀

(UK residents only)

The competition closes midnight on 11th May

Tuesday TBR Teasers

Hey, hey, hey! Welcome back to the Big Kids Book Club.

It’s Tuesday, so what should we talk about today? How about new books!

Today we look at a book that’s either just been released or soon to be hitting shelves, but either way they should be on your wish lists!

Today’s book: Such a Good Liar by Sue Wallman

Publisher: Scholastic

Pages: 352

Release Date:  05/05/2022


She’s faking her way into the most exclusive social circles for revenge. But how long can her lies hold up?

Seventeen-year-old Lydia Cornwallis has arrived on a remote island populated only by wealthy families and their staff. She quickly finds acceptance, even adoration, from the close-knit families that rule the island. But a storm is coming, and all routes to the mainland are cut off.

But thank goodness the Harrington sisters made it in time, because Lydia simply can’t wait to meet them. That’s because Lydia’s not really Lydia Cornwallis. And the Harringtons have hell to pay for what they’ve done.

Lydia will need to draw on epic nerve, quicksilver adaptability and sly cunning in maintaining her cover and exacting murderous revenge. And when she meets someone new on the island and starts to develop real feelings, can that connection survive when nothing else is real?

This fraudster story will keep readers on edge, turning the pages to find out how long Lydia can keep this brazen scheme up.

Perfect for fans of Holly Jackson, Karen McManus and E. Lockhart.

Episode 120: Big Kids Book Club Author Interview – Ivor Baddiel

Hey hey hey!

Welcome back to this week’s Author Interview.

In this episode, Ivor Baddiel, author of Britain’s Smartest Kid… on Ice!, joins us on the show!

Ivor and I talked about kids fears of being themselves, going behind the scenes of TV writing, and the love of football.

Ivor was a great guest to have on the show and we are very grateful he was able to join us on the show.

Enjoy!

***COMPETITION***

If you want to be in with a chance of winning a copy of Britain’s Smartest Kid… on Ice! then head over to Twitter and follow @BigKidsBookClub. Send us a tweet using the hashtag #Icecomp and tell us your show stopping talent!

(UK residents only)

The competition closes midnight on 6th May

Thursday TBR Teaser

Hey, hey, hey! Welcome back to the Big Kids Book Club.

It’s Thursday, so what should we talk about today? How about new books!

Today we look at a book that’s either just been released or soon to be hitting shelves, but either way they should be on your wish lists!

Today’s book: Skandar and the Unicorn Thief by A. F. Steadman

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd

Pages: 400

Release Date:  28/04/2022

Soar into a breathtaking world of heroes and ferocious unicorns in this first book in the hotly anticipated fantasy adventure series for fans of Harry Potter, Percy Jackson and Amari and the Night Brothers.

Thirteen-year-old Skandar Smith has only ever wanted to be a unicorn rider. To be one of the lucky few selected to hatch a unicorn. To bond with it for life; to train together and race for glory; to be a hero.

But just as Skandar’s dream is about to come true, things start to take a more dangerous turn than he could ever have imagined. A dark and twisted enemy has stolen the Island’s most powerful unicorn – and as the threat grows ever closer, Skandar discovers a secret that could blow apart his world forever…

Get ready for unlikely heroes, elemental magic, sky battles, ancient secrets, nail-biting races and ferocious unicorns, in this epic adventure series that will have your heart soaring.

Big Kids Book Club Podcast Archives – Dan Walker

We’ve met a lot of new friends join the #BigKidsBookClub since we started back in 2020 so today we’re opening the archive and our episode with Dan Walker

*COMPETITION IS CLOSED*

https://anchor.fm/bigkidsbookclubpodcast/embed/episodes/Episode-5-Big-Kids-Book-Club—Author-Interview-Dan-Walker-ek4211

#kidsbooks#middlegrade#blog#bookblogs#books#librarians#teachers

Tuesday TBR Teasers

Hey, hey, hey! Welcome back to the Big Kids Book Club.

It’s Tuesday, so what should we talk about today? How about new books!

Today we look at a book that’s either just been released or soon to be hitting shelves, but either way they should be on your wish lists!

Today’s book: The Girl Who Lost a Leopard by Nizrana Farook

Publisher: Nosy Crow

Pages: 160

Release Date:  07/04/2022

From the author of The Girl Who Stole an Elephant comes another brilliant escapade. The third thrilling adventure set in a fictional Sri Lanka is jam-packed with peril, poachers and an endangered leopard!

Selvi is a wild child who loves climbing in the beautiful mountains behind her home. She is often joined by Lokka, a leopard with a beautiful coat and huge golden eyes.

When hunters come for Lokka, Selvi is determined to fight. But what can she do against such powerful enemies? Turn to her friends, of course!

Now they just need the perfect plan…

Episode 119: Big Kids Book Club Author Interview – Christine Pillainayagam Part 2

Hey hey hey!

Welcome back to this week’s Author Interview.

Let’s re-join Emma and Christine PIllainayagam as they talk about her latest novel, Ellie Pillai Is Brown

Emma and Christine chatted about writing stories for her younger self, the importance of music behind novels, and getting opportunities to live out dreams.

Christine was a great guest to have on the show and we are very grateful she was able to join us on the show.

This is part two for the episode – if you haven’t listened to Part 1, then listen to it first.

Thursday TBR Teasers

Hey, hey, hey! Welcome back to the Big Kids Book Club.

It’s Thursday, so what should we talk about today? How about new books!

Today we look at a book that’s either just been released or soon to be hitting shelves, but either way they should be on your wish lists!

Today’s book: Run for your Life by Jane Mitchell

Publisher: Little Island Publishing

Pages: 256

Release Date:  07/04/2022

The first children’s book exploring Direct Provision, Ireland’s asylum-seeker accommodation system, from Jane Mitchell, the award-winning author of Chalkline and A Dangerous Crossing

Azari’s life has been split in two and the halves are as different as lemons and mangoes. Running links the two parts of her life: sometimes when she runs it is because she wants to, because she feels strong and free. But sometimes it is because she has no other choice.

When Azari and her mother flee for their lives to Ireland they are put in a Direct Provision Centre. They must share a room with a stranger, eat food they don’t know the name of and answer intrusive questions from authorities.

Azari’s life has secrets; she must tell them so she can stop running and live a life where she can make her own decisions.

Endorsed by Amnesty International.

PRAISE FOR RUN FOR YOUR LIFE

“… Showing the fragile yet resilient humanity at the heart of refugee journeys … Run For Your Life is a book which should make us all reflect on how we in more peaceful, prosperous and safe countries receive those seeking protection.” Immigrant Council of Ireland

Episode 118: Big Kids Book Club Author Interview – Christine PIllainayagam Part 1

Hey hey hey!

Welcome back to this week’s Author Interview.

In this episode, Christine PIllainayagam, joins Emma to talk about her latest novel, Ellie Pillai Is Brown

Emma and Christine chatted about writing stories for her younger self, the importance of music behind novels, and getting opportunities to live out dreams.

Christine was a great guest to have on the show and we are very grateful she was able to join us on the show.

This is part one of two for the episode – the next half will be coming out this Friday 22nd April. So keep an eye out for it. 

Tuesday TBR Teasers

Hey, hey, hey! Welcome back to the Big Kids Book Club.

It’s Tuesday, so what should we talk about today? How about new books!

Today we look at a book that’s either just been released or soon to be hitting shelves, but either way they should be on your wish lists!

Today’s book: Truth Be Told by Sue Divin

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

Pages: 304

Release Date:  14/04/2022

Tara is from Derry, Faith is from Armagh; their lives are very different, but they look exactly the same – they just don’t know why…

Two teens from very different backgrounds – Tara, the Catholic daughter of a two generation single parent family, and Faith, the daughter of strict Evangelical Protestants from Armagh, come face to face at a residential and discover they look almost identical. A DNA test reveals they are related, and that Faith’s father is not who she thinks – while Tara has never known hers.

Between them, they set out to unravel the mystery of their shared parentage, but in doing so set in motion a series of revelations about the pasts of both their families.

Meanwhile, they are also dealing separately with their own issues – Tara angry and grieving after the sudden death of her boyfriend Oran, and Faith hiding her true sexuality from her family for fear of being disowned.