Episode 158: Big Kids Book Club Author Interview – Sufiya Ahmed

Hey hey hey!

Welcome back to this week’s Author Interview.

In this episode, Sufiya Ahmed, joins us to talk about her latest novel, Rosie Raja – Churchill’s Spy.

I chatted to Sufiya about writing books, history of heroes in WW2 and more.

Sufiya was a great guest to have on the show and we are very grateful she was able to join us on the show.

***COMPETITION***

If you want to be in with a chance of winning a copy of Rosie Raja – Churchill’s Spy head over to Twitter and follow @BigKidsBookClub.
Send us a tweet using the hashtag #Rosiecomp and crack this code – ..-. .-. . . -.. — —

(UK residents only)

The competition closes midnight on 26th August

Episode 157: Big Kids Book Club Author Interview – Kita Mitchell

Hey hey hey!

Welcome back to this week’s Author Interview.

In this episode, Kita Mitchell, joins us to talk about her latest novel, Don’t Tell Mum I made a Mammoth.

I chatted to Kita about writing books, working for Fireman Sam, and how her daughters give her book ideas. 

Kitawas a great guest to have on the show and we are very grateful she was able to join us on the show.

***COMPETITION***

If you want to be in with a chance of winning a copy of Don’t Tell Mum I made a Mammoth head over to Twitter and follow @BigKidsBookClub.
Send us a tweet using the hashtag #Mammothcomp and tell us what animal you’d like to bring back from extinction. 

(UK residents only)

The competition closes midnight on 24th August

Tuesday TBR Teasers

Hey, hey, hey! Welcome back to the Big Kids Book Club.

It’s Tuesday, so what should we talk about today? How about new books!

Today we look at a book that’s either just been released or soon to be hitting shelves, but either way they should be on your wish lists!

Today’s book: Ember Shadows and the Fates of Mount Never by Rebecca King

Publisher: Hachette

Pages: 256

Release Date: 18/08/2022

In a land trapped by fate, only courage can re-write the future.

In the magical village of Everspring, everyone receives a fate card before their twelfth birthday, sent down from the mysterious Mount Never. It tells them their purpose, their profession and how old they’ll be when they die.

Nearly 12-year-old Ember Shadows has always believed she is destined for great things. But when her fate card arrives, it’s blank. What does that mean? Then, worse still, her sister’s card decrees she will die before her next birthday. No way is Ember’s going to let that happen.

Determined to challenge what – or who – is responsible for these cards, Ember sets off up the mountain, a place no one is allowed to go. She encounters forbidden realms full of magic, trickery and curious creatures. In a thrilling race through a magical landscape, Ember Shadows must uncover the secret behind the fate cards in order to save her sister …

But will Ember like what she finds at the top of the mountain?

With hints of Alice in Wonderland, shades of The Phantom Tollbooth and echoes of Pixar’s Inside Out, this a thrilling, warm-hearted race through magical realms, a classic magical adventure, beautifully illustrated throughout.

Episode 156: Big Kids Book Club Author Interview – Louise Finch

Hey hey hey!

Welcome back to this week’s Author Interview.

In this episode, Louise Finch, joins us to talk about her Debut Novel, The Eternal Return of Clara Hart.

Emma chatted to Louise about tackling 

Louisewas a great guest to have on the show and we are very grateful she was able to join us on the show.

***COMPETITION***

If you want to be in with a chance of winning a copy of The Eternal Return of Clara Hart head over to Twitter and follow @BigKidsBookClub.
Send us a tweet using the hashtag #Claracomp and tell us what day you’d like to live on repeat.

(UK residents only)

The competition closes midnight on 19th August

Episode 155: Big Kids Book Club Author Interview – Janelle McCurdy

Hey hey hey!

Welcome back to this week’s Author Interview.

In this episode, Janelle McCurdy, joins us to talk about her Debut Novel, Mia and the Lightcasters.

I chatted to Janelle about taking ten years to get published, Digimon, and video games influence on her writing. 

Janelle was a great guest to have on the show and we are very grateful she was able to join us on the show.

***COMPETITION***

If you want to be in with a chance of winning a copy of Mia and the Lightcasters head over to Twitter and follow @BigKidsBookClub.
Send us a tweet using the hashtag #Miacomp and tell us what 2 animals you’d combine to make your own unique Umbra.

(UK residents only)

The competition closes midnight on 17th August

Tuesday TBR Teasers

Hey, hey, hey! Welcome back to the Big Kids Book Club.

It’s Tuesday, so what should we talk about today? How about new books!

Today we look at a book that’s either just been released or soon to be hitting shelves, but either way they should be on your wish lists!

Today’s book: Alex Neptune: The Dragon Thief by David Owen

Publisher: Usborne Publishing

Pages: 256

Release Date: 04/08/2022

Meet Alex Neptune, the boy with the power of the ocean in his hands – a brand-new hero for fans of Percy Jackson and Dragon Realm!

For as long as Alex Neptune can remember, the ocean has been trying to kill him. So he’s not too happy when a bunch of sea creatures drag him to the abandoned aquarium on the hill, where an imprisoned water dragon needs his help. But how can he say no to a magical myth?

Recruiting his tech-genius best friend Zoey, legend-lover Anil, a sharp-shooting octopus, four acrobatic otters and a thieving seagull, Alex plots a heist to break the dragon out. And suddenly discovers the power of the ocean at his fingertips…

Episode 154: Big Kids Book Club Author Interview – David Owen

Hey hey hey!

Welcome back to this week’s Author Interview.

In this episode, David Owen, joins us to talk about his Debut Middle Grade – Alex Neptune: Dragon Thief

I chatted to David about environmental issues, seaside mythology and whether or not seagulls count as sea animals??? You decide!

David was a great guest to have on the show and we are very grateful he was able to join us on the show.

***COMPETITION***

If you want to be in with a chance of winning a copy of Alex Neptune: Dragon Thief head over to Twitter and follow @BigKidsBookClub.
Send us a tweet using the hashtag #Neptunecomp and tell us what’s your favourite sea creature?

(UK residents only)

The competition closes midnight on 12th August

Episode 153: Big Kids Book Club Author Interview – Kate Foster

Hey hey hey!

Welcome back to this week’s Author Interview.

In this episode, Kate Foster, joins us to talk about her debut novel here in the UK, PAWS.

I chatted to Kate about writing autistic characters, the friendship between dogs and people, and the balance of being an author.

Kate was a great guest to have on the show and we are very grateful she was able to join us on the show.

Check out PAWS from Walker Books – Out 4th August 

Tuesday TBR Teasers

Hey, hey, hey! Welcome back to the Big Kids Book Club.

It’s Tuesday, so what should we talk about today? How about new books!

Today we look at a book that’s either just been released or soon to be hitting shelves, but either way they should be on your wish lists!

Today’s book: Mia & the Lightcasters by Janelle McCurdy

Publisher: Faber & Faber

Pages: 416

Release Date: 04/08/2022

Beware of the shadows, the Reaper King is coming…

Mia always dreamed of being an umbra tamer until she met the wild creature on the Nightmare Plains. Since that day, she prefers to stay safe within the walls of Nubis. Safe, that is, until a surprise attack. With her parents captured, Mia’s only hope is to travel to the City of Light to find help.

But with only her little brother, two friends and one solitary tamed umbra, the journey feels impossible. Mia not only has to overcome her fears, she also has to learn to harness her umbra taming abilities if they are to complete the quest in time.

Episode 152: Big Kids Book Club Author Interview – Fleur Hitchcock

Hey hey hey!

Welcome back to this week’s Author Interview.

In this episode, Fleur Hitchcock, joins us to talk about her latest novel, Mouseheart.

I chatted to Fleur about writing in cities she knows, blending fact and fiction, and writing mysteries from back to front. 

Fleur was a great guest to have on the show and we are very grateful she was able to join us on the show.

***COMPETITION***

If you want to be in with a chance of winning a copy of Mouseheart head over to Twitter and follow @BigKidsBookClub.
Send us a tweet using the hashtag #Mousecomp and tell us your favourite play or musical

(UK residents only)

The competition closes midnight on 8th August